If you have a national food product then it had damn well better be good. It just so happens that New Zealand really does produce some great tasting Kiwi fruit. As I understand it the kiwi fruit is actually the chinese gooseberry and therefore theoretically originates from china. Because I don’t want to die or get some strange disease I stopped eating anything that came out of china before I got into kiwi fruit, so I can’t comment on whether that particular produce is best from its native habitat or its most famed one. There’s a certain possibility that after ignoring kiwi fruit to the point where times I’d eaten it could be counted on one hand I’m now eating it too often but I don’t care.

Personally I will even eat the skin on a good kiwifruit, it seems strange to put a fruit with hair into your mouth at first but as adults we all have learned to enjoy putting hairy things into our mouths haven’t we? I do feel like past a certain level of ripeness the skin is not suitable to eat anymore. I am as yet unclear on exactly where the line is for ripeness with a kiwi but I look at it this way: the skin is best when the flesh is not ripe, the entire package is best when ripe enough to have some give all over but still fairly firm (most noticeably in the core when you bite into one), and the taste of the flesh itself is sweetest when over ripe and almost mushy.

Ah yes really the kiwi is a mysterious fruit which I think suits me quite well. And isn’t it more exciting to have a fruit be the food your nation is known for rather than a piece off a corpse cooked in wine?