Just to get it out of the way, Q:”can you boil stew meat?” A: That’s kind of the point of buying low quality anonymously sourced and overpriced pre-cut stew meat isn’t it? In fact if you boil meat until it’s cooked through with a few vegetables in there and maybe a little bit of flour and corn starch (pre-dissolved and whisked in cold water) then you have pretty much got stew. Seriously speaking you generally want to “simmer” rather than “boil” meat when making a stew but that’s mincing hairs you know? It’s all about sanitation! You want to make sure that it’s cooked through and all the little bacterias are dead so even if you hardly get any nutrients, you won’t get sick. Lately there are even stories of raw produce making people really sick. This actually isn’t anything new, it’s just that it’s old enough that a lot of people forgot about it.

Well anyway my life never stopped sucking from my perspective I just try really hard to ignore it. Lately it’s been more persistent as I found out that I’m smart enough that I’m a moron yet not smart enough to be a genius however my output still isn’t much better than that of a moron.  Don’t worry, that doesn’t make sense to anybody but what it means is that I remain screwed as far as just about everything goes. And also that if I only have one thing it’s high standards: the 98th percentile isn’t good enough for me. My sole consolation is that the remaining two percentile who are theoretically smarter than me are even more screwed up than me. It’s not much but you read it here first: people who are smart are really fucked up. The smarter you are, the more fucked up. Unfortunately the opposite isn’t necessarily true, you can still be really fucked up even if you’re a moron. Being really fucked up can even cause you to be a moron.

Recently I discovered what the charm of the Canadian sitcom “Corner Gas” is; watching it while drinking hard alcohol. The cast of the show tries to give you this hint by frequently imbibing alcohol throughout the course of the episodes but they’re usually just drinking beer and that’s not hard enough to take the show from boring to funny. Canada is probably just too nice of a place to take in sober. I will say this for the show: it never makes me sad. That might not mean anything to anyone else, but it’s something to keep in mind if you get a chance to watch the show (which is time better spent doing almost anything else).

You know what else has me down? Cleaning. It might not be apparent but I’m somewhat of a perfectionist and this is most apparent during cleaning. All I can say about cleaning is that there is no such thing as clean, you just eventually reach a point that you have to admit is “clean enough”. Different people have a different threshold for clean enough. This is so that society can keep working in order to have someone provide me with factory sealed sponges, bleach, hard alcohol, and vinyl gloves. I would not necessarily recommend ingesting that combination. In fact I would recommend against doing so.

In my opinion life sucks in different ways for different people, including not sucking. And of course for some people it doesn’t suck because it’s too busy blowing. Sorry I couldn’t resist that one. This is beginning to sound like a bad comedy routine but that’s not a bad analogy for life. You throw your material out there and people don’t even bother to boo. If you can at least get people to boo you then you know they’re paying attention, but if you get nothing from the audience then they’re probably just there to drink overpriced imported beer after being fooled by the free admission. Which itself might be an analogy of life: you get in for free but you’re paying for every last damn thing after that.