Don’t you love hyperbole?

So after perhaps 2 or 3 months of abstaining from the flesh of animals and for no reason pretty much starving myself otherwise I finally ate some vacuum packed wild Alaskan salmon. If possible I would have liked my parting ways with vegetarianism to be grander but it was probably very fitting. If you get caught up in grand standing then some day you’re going to find yourself alone on top of a cliff.

Like many other things I feel like being a vegetarian is the right way to live life but I’ve decided it’s not for me. Having gone so long without this that or the other thing I’ve proved to myself that it’s really not a big deal so I probably won’t go back to eating meat multiple times each day again. Although I am in the mood for some tacos now.

Somehow in the midst of this I discovered that both society and individuals are inherently opposed to one’s morality should it inconvenience them. For example I  have cooked for others fewer times this year than I  had  during some weeks in the past. These people who used to mooch off my effort, they didn’t think anything of me being a vegetarian until they found themselves having to figure out food all on their own. For my part I simply wasn’t preparing food a lot in the first place but when I was they were rarely meals. I often made some beans and rice and ate some fruit and vegetables which by all accounts is a complete meal but it is by no means cuisine. Of course it could have been, failing everything else I could have made any kind of sauce or integrated the cooking in various ways (cook black beans and use the water to cook the white rice= black rice and beans), but in retreating from my old ways of utilizing choice parts of corpses in interesting ways and heading towards dietary simplicity I simply got lazy. For months all I’ve heard was “come on, eat some meat you’re wasting away” and though I have lost a substantial amount of weight (the fastest way to lose weight is always to stop eating) these platitudes from people were not out of their personal concern for me.

Ah it looks like my point was lost in the midst of that. For another example, wasn’t there a time when you were in a group of people and they wanted to do something that you didn’t agree with on what was ultimately a moral basis (think about that a bit, it might seem like an opinion or preference but those are usually rooted in morality anyway) and they belittled you for this? I don’t care who you are, that has happened to you at least once.

So, people only like morality when it sits up on a shelf out of sight. But if it presents itself in front of them they just want to shove it out of the way. A shame?